Do You Know Who Can Track Your Location? It’s Worth Checking Periodically

Sharing your location works well when you’re out with friends or family and want everyone to be able to see where everyone else is. It’s easy to enable in various spots in iOS 13—in Messages, in Contacts, in the Find My app, and so on. You can share your location for an hour, until [...]

By |2020-05-06T17:31:28-04:00June 16th, 2020|iOS Tips|Comments Off on Do You Know Who Can Track Your Location? It’s Worth Checking Periodically

What Are All These New Privacy Request Dialogs in Mojave?

With macOS 10.14 Mojave, Apple has beefed up the Mac’s privacy so it more closely resembles privacy in iOS. You’ve noticed that when you launch a new app on your iPhone or iPad, it often prompts for access to your photos or contacts, the camera or microphone, and more. The idea behind those prompts is [...]

By |2018-11-20T14:10:13-04:00November 16th, 2018|Mac Tips|Comments Off on What Are All These New Privacy Request Dialogs in Mojave?

Being an Apple User Means You’re Not the Product

There’s an Internet saying: “If you’re not the customer, you’re the product.” The point is that, if you’re getting a service for free, the company providing it sees you not as a customer, but as a product to sell, generally to advertisers. This is how Google, Facebook, and Twitter operate. They provide services for [...]

By |2018-08-08T18:00:42-04:00August 17th, 2018|iOS Tips, Mac Tips|Comments Off on Being an Apple User Means You’re Not the Product